21 Reasons ([info]21reasons) wrote,
@ 2007-09-19 20:47:00
Previous Entry  Add to memories!  Tell a Friend  Next Entry
Current mood: irritated

http://www.0pornos.com/? Are you kidding me?

I'm a moderator for a mountain biking forum. One of my main duties is to filter genuine membership requests from those being made by spammers. Frankly, if I just deleted every new membership request, I'd be right 95% of the time or so. Around 10 spammer accounts get created each day.

A vanishingly small amount of these spammer accounts could be confused with genuine membership requests. For a forum dedicated to mountain biking in Scotland we get a surprising number of membership requests from directors located in Canada who enjoy snowboarding. Still, even amongst all the blatantly spambot-generated membership requests, those who list their home page as http://www.0pornos.com/ (I am not going to hyperlink to that) take the biscuit. Really! Could they at least fucking try?




(3 comments) - (Post a new comment)


[info]craigoxbrow
2007-09-19 09:21 pm UTC (link)
I got an email last week titled SPAM.

I suppose it's rather post-ironic...

(Reply to this)


[info]eponine_b
2007-09-19 09:48 pm UTC (link)
That made me giggle. It is amusing how obvious they are most of the time but is it just me though or have spambots always been about as subtle as a ten ton brick?

(Reply to this)


(Anonymous)
2008-07-03 08:24 am UTC (link)
Are you using phpBB v2? It was the devil's own work to block spam applicants using that, and the main reason I picked up my (fairly rudimentary) php skills in the first place was in order to do so. If so, phpBB 3 is much improved if you can be bothered to run the upgrade scripts.

Endie

(Reply to this)


(3 comments) - (Post a new comment)

Create an Account
Forgot your login or password?
Login w/ OpenID
English • Español • Deutsch • Русский…